The City of Waleska is governed by a Mayor and six (6) Council Members, who are elected at large by City residents.  The terms of office are for four (4) years.

Qualifications of Mayor and Council Members:

  1. Must be a resident of the City of Waleska for a minimum of 12 months.
  2. Must be a bona fide resident of the corporate limits of the City of Waleska.
  3. Must be at least 18 years of age.
  4. Must have paid all taxes due by them to the City of Waleska.

The Mayor and Council hold the monthly council meetings on the first and third Monday of each month (normally unless there's a conflict) at 6:30 p.m.  All meetings of the Mayor and Council are held in the Meeting Room of City Hall located at 8891 Fincher Road.

At any meeting, the Mayor or Mayor Pro-Tem and three (3) of the Council Members shall constitute a quorum to transact business.  It shall take a majority vote of the Council Members present to pass any measure.  The Mayor shall vote on all measures only when there is a tie vote of the Council Members.

The Mayor shall be the Chief Executive of the City of Waleska; shall preside at meetings of the Mayor and Council; shall see that all laws, ordinances, rules and regulations are faithfully enforced; shall see that all officers and employees shall faithfully discharge their duties; shall sign with the City Clerk of Council any deed, lease, conveyance and contract that may be authorized and directed by the Mayor and Council.